Philosophy Bath & Shower Gels

my lil collection of philosophy body washes

my collection of philosophy body washes

I finally jumped on the Philosophy Shower Gel Bandwagon (yeah, it’s a thing) when I was pregnant with my first child. Even though I didn’t really know how hard motherhood would be, I had a feeling I could use a product that would shorten my time in the shower. I’m glad I managed to snag these three shampoo, shower gel & bubble bath combos in Amazing Grace, Vanilla Cream Topping, and Sugar Plum Fairy.

WHAT IT IS

Award-winning shampoo, shower gel & bubble bath all-in-one product featuring delightful scents

WHAT I LOVE

My favorite things about these bath gels are the luxurious feel and the SCENTS. Philosophy is known for creating heavenly scented body/face care products, and I give them extra kudos on their food scents. I am a food-scent junkie. I love a vanilla/dessert-scented anything (candles, lotion, lip gloss…) so these are perfect for me. Another reason they fit the bill is their triple-duty to work as a shower gel, shampoo, and bubble bath. When I need a quick shower (which is pretty much ALL THE TIME) these are my go-to products to keep it simple and smelling lovely.

Vanilla Cream Topping: This one is my favorite scent out of the three I own. It’s not overwhelming, but it will fill your bathroom with a sugary, vanilla aroma for a little while. The gel itself feels luxuriously creamy and lathers well. It’s cute that it features a real recipe for creating your own vanilla cream topping to pour over your favorite desserts. In one word: YUM.

Sugar Plum Fairy: This is a glittering, purpley-pink, highly scented gel. It’s a hard-to-describe berry scent that’s a little spicy and tart, with a hint of wine. This one is not creamy and leaves a stronger scent behind than the others. The first time I used it, I discovered that it made my robe smell wonderful! The glitter gets washed away when you rinse, of course.

Amazing Grace: I think for people who love the scent already, you’ll probably like this. It’s an ok scent, but it comes across as oddly generic and soapy/perfumey to me. It’s a pretty pearlescent soft pink color and has a creamy feel. I have this in a size that’s perfect for travel, so I use it the most then.

I tend to shampoo with these when I’m in a hurry, or if I’m shampooing twice—once with my regular shampoo, and once with one of these (they will really help refresh the effectiveness of your usual shampoo). I use them the most often for a shower gel, and I love how they suds up well but don’t dry out my skin.

ON THE DOWNSIDE

None of the scents last on your body for very long. Some people might think that’s a negative thing, but I actually like that it fades so I can throw on my favorite perfume without any fragrance clashes. I like that they work for shampoo, but I recommend using a conditioner afterwards for sure. Most reviews say they make a good bubble bath, but not great, as the suds don’t last as long as they’d like.

I’ve also seen some reviews from people who didn’t like the scents for a variety of reasons (too “fake”, too strong, not strong enough), and you already know I’m not a big fan of the Amazing Grace scent for these, so my advice is to hit a Sephora in person if you can to test them out. If you’re looking for a safe bet, the Cinnamon Buns fragrance is the best seller with the most rave reviews of them all. (I gotta try this! My hubby is a huge cinnamon roll addict and it sounds like it’ll make our bathroom smell like Cinnabon. Sign me up!)

RATING

★★★★★ 4/5

These shower gels make me feel a little pampered despite my less-than-glamorous rushed shower time, and I love them for that! They come in delicious scents (just pick the one that’s right for you) and do a great job—but are lacking just a bit in being a super-perfect shampoo, bubble bath, and shower gel at the same time. That is a formula that I think would be pretty difficult to create!

WHERE TO BUY

Get these from Philosophy’s website, Amazon, or Sephora.

I am not affiliated with this company and was not compensated in any way for this review.

Leave a Reply

